by Alex Autin

…things I Loved! Week of Jan 20th – Jan 26th 2013

david-and-goliath-photo_Octavio-Aburto

I first became aware of this stunning image in a Jan 25 post on EarthSky by Deborah Byrd titled Underwater Fish Tornado Off  Baja California. The photograph is the work of photographer and marine biologist Octavio Aburto, captured at the Cabo Pulmo National Park in Mexico, in the course of studying the courtship behavior of a species of Jack fish. Mr Aburto’s photograph, aptly titled David and Goliath, captures his friend David Castro’s miniscule size in comparison to the gigantic school. For more of Octavio Aburto’s brilliant marine photography visit his website, which can be found here.  Also, check out the video below to learn more about the making of David and Goliath.

WOW! And on the subject of ‘WOW’…..there’s this…

6a0105371bb32c970b017ee78b80a9970d-750wi

My favorite astronomy image of the week was taken by astro-photographer Luis Argerich of Buenos Aires, Argentina. This image titled, Airglow Above Buenos Aires was featured as Earth Science Picture of the Day for Jan 26. The image is a 360-degree stereographic projection showing the entire night sky near Mr Argerich’s location about 60 miles from Buenos Aires. Airglow is a weak light emission stemming from the chemical reactions involving oxygen, nitrogen, sodium and ozone (chemiluminescence) at altitudes between about 50 to 60 miles above the Earth’s surface. According to Mr Argerich, the green color bands, which are obvious to the camera, were not visible to the naked eye and seem to converge because of perspective. In addition to this awesome image, Mr Argerich was also featured this week as Jan 24’s Astronomy Picture of the Day for his photograph called ISS and the Summer Milky Way, featuring starry clouds and nebulae along the southern hemisphere’s summer Milky Way arc above the horizon, and the orbiting International Space Station tracing a long streak through a single, 5 minute, star-tracking exposure. Be sure to visit Luis Argerich’s site for more of his amazingly beautiful work!

Inside the blogosphere this week there was much to think about, smile about, and out-and-out laugh about. For a brilliant, and hilarious, look at what your brain is doing while you’re at work check out Canadian cartoonist, John Atkinson’s Jan 23rd post on Wrong Hands titled Occupational Preoccupation. While there be sure to check out some of John’s galleries, but be warned, his work is very, VERY, addictive!

Also falling into the category of Things I Love one of my favorite blog writers, White Lady in the Hood, also know as Chica Blanca, treated us this week to a post titled The River Rats. Managing to combine humor and reflectiveness, Chica, has a knack of not only drawing the reader in, but also eerily making us feel as if we are there taking part in the story she’s sharing with us. Her writing is good, very good, but it’s her ability to connect with her readers which shines most brightly. Chica’s an elusive poster, she won’t flood your inbox, but if you enjoy a good read and are anything like me, when you do find one of her posts in your mailbox you’ll be heading right over.

If you haven’t had your mind exercised and excited lately, you might want to pay a visit to Wired Cosmos and check out Jason Carr’s Jan 23 article, Sending Odors and Tastes as an Email Attachment, to read about some of the uses, and potential misuses, of the technology of electronic noses and tongues. Wired Cosmos is a fascinating  journal of science, technology, and futurism, and by fascinating I mean mind-blowing. A couple other of Jason’s articles I’ve particularly enjoyed include his Nine Must-Read Dystopian Novels, (Considering I’ve only read 4 of the 9, I’ve some catching up to do! How many have you read?), and his recent emerging technology article  Future Computing: Meet the Flexible Paper Computer. Ok, I SO want one of those!

My favorite song of this past week was posted by Xandi from World Music in a post titled, Music from Argentina – Alerta Pachuca, and features the song Nunca Dejes de Bailar (Never Stop Dancing). Alerta Pachuca, formed in 2008, is a Latin fusion group composed of 7 multi-instrumentalists from Buenos Aires. I hope you enjoy!!

Here’s hoping everyone a great week. Keep looking up!!

19 responses

  1. whiteladyinthehood

    I think the ocean is a fascinating place for exploration – the Tuna Tornado was a really cool video. (I watched it twice and then had to let my husband watch it, too)
    I have a class this semester on ‘Edible Science’ and we just had a discussion about the tongue. At one time, people thought you tasted certain things on certain areas (bitter in the back, sweet on the tip of your tongue, etc) That’s what I was taught, but now they are saying most likely people just have more or less taste buds in certain places – so I found the article on sending odors/taste as an e-mail very interesting. (My boss lady actually gave me a recipe for Metamucil slime…eeew..sounds disgusting to me, but the kids will love it – hope I don’t give them a bad stomach ache)…
    and thank you for the mention! I’m flattered!!!!

    January 27, 2013 at 10:07 am

    • You’re quite welcome Chica, and thank you!

      For some reason ‘Edible Science’ sounds very delicious to me, even though you clearly mentioned the words metamucil slime…… ;)

      I agree with you about the oceans, there’s so much about them we’ve yet to discover.

      January 28, 2013 at 3:50 am

  2. Now that you mention it, I’ve never ween whitelady and Chica Blanca at the same time.
    Hmm….
    Fantastic images for this weeks edition,and dug the song too.
    Looking forward to checking out the wired links later on.

    Today is the Apollo anniversary, tomorrow is the Challenger anniversary.
    Sigh.

    January 27, 2013 at 10:52 am

    • I’ve heard she even sometimes goes under the alias ‘Chicago Blanca’… ;)

      Glad you enjoyed the images and music Guapo, and I KNOW you’ll find Wired Cosmos interesting! And yes, late January does seem a bit of a bad time for NASA.

      January 28, 2013 at 3:56 am

  3. Love ya Alex…thanks for the kind words! :)

    January 27, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    • You’re very welcome Jason! And thank you :D

      January 28, 2013 at 3:56 am

  4. Nice song selection. You know, those dudes play a lot of instruments, but my favorite wasn’t even an instrument–it was the birdwhistles.

    As usual, a lot of neat stuff and gorgeous photos–when are we gonna see some more AA originals?

    Also, as cool as that first picture is, I’d like to see the one from a few seconds later, after those fish devour Octavio.

    January 27, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    • LOL! I liked the jungle sounds also, and yes the band members are very talented, but perhaps they should not encourage the audience to sing so much. There was a studio version of the song I could have used, but then we wouldn’t have the bird calls.

      And thanks for requesting some AA originals. I’ve promised myself to photograph more this year, and post my photography about once a week, but I’ve sucked at living up to it. It is nice to know someone out there appreciates it though. Thanks!

      January 28, 2013 at 4:03 am

  5. Alex, you always post pictures that wow me… and things to make me go hmmmm…. :P

    January 27, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    • Wow you and make you say hmmm….I’m gonna take those as good things!

      Thanks Richard :D

      January 28, 2013 at 4:09 am

  6. Wow … lotsa stuff here. The fish tornado is cool, but the pic below is my winner. Love the song too! :) …. Time for some breakfast for me.

    January 28, 2013 at 7:00 am

    • Good morning Frank! I agree with you, and I hope you’ll find time to check out some of Luis Argerich’s other work! I also hope breakfast was good! :)

      January 29, 2013 at 4:49 am

      • Actually getting ready for the next one. ;)

        January 29, 2013 at 6:16 am

        • Hehe…and now lunch I suppose. ;)

          January 29, 2013 at 12:18 pm

  7. Whoa!! I have to duck out for dinner…but I’m going to come back and check out everything…..I LOVE THE TUNA TORNADO!! Love the song!!! You’re doing a lot to educate so many of us Alex…keep up the good work.

    January 28, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    • Thanks Suzanne! There’s no shortage of coolness out there to learn about. I hope you enjoyed dinner. :D

      January 29, 2013 at 4:51 am

  8. I’m sure they are very well intentioned but to see a swarm ( school ) of fish that large swimming towards you must have been slightly alarming. Having said that, you’ve included some amazing photographs here

    January 29, 2013 at 11:11 am

    • Hmm….well intentioned fish…. :D

      Since he, Aburto, was studying courtship behavior, I’m thinking the fish were probably not in the least bit interested in the 2 marine biologist. ;)

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, thanks!

      January 29, 2013 at 12:23 pm

  9. Hi Alex. I love this post especially the fish tornado… Very cool! Thanks for sharing!

    February 3, 2013 at 5:39 pm

You were saying...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,613 other followers