by Alex Autin

An Astronomical Amount Of FOOLISHNESS

images  A few days ago I was approached, via email, by someone I do not know. This, in itself,  is not a rare event. I am often electronically approached by a variety of unknown individuals, including many Canadians who are greatly concerned with the health of my sex life.

This particular solicitation, however, had nothing to do with sex. Had it, I would have …well, never mind.  I won’t go down that road. What it was, actually, was an invitation to participate in a Birthday Event. Now let me be perfectly clear in stating that I, as a rule, avoid Birthday Events. Sort of in the same way I avoid Facebook ‘Friends’ and Jehovah Witnesses, who, I’m convinced, are the exact same individuals… the sneaky fuckers.

Though I typically ignore socially forced celebrations and their attempts in making the ‘unextraordinary’ extraordinary, the recipient of this particular celebration is someone I choose to not ignore. In fact, he would be very difficult to ignore even if I did choose to.

By now it’s clear I’m referring to El Guapo, of Guapola – The Asylum Within The Asylum. And music! And apparently today is his birthday. Why anyone over the age of 25 would want to be reminded of a birthday is complete FOOLISHNESS, but without question, when it comes to FOOLISHNESS no one does it better then Guapo. Also, in my experience, no one does niceness, cleverness, and sweetness better than Guapo. Besides his abilities as a writer, which he highly under-rates, and his being one of the very first people to make me feel like a part of this twisted, ego stroking, community known as WordPress, I have a great admiration for people completely willing to jump off things, from things, and into things. I also adore anyone with the ability to allow themselves to go totally geek for the things which they love, another category in which Guapo excels. So, without more being said, because really ….how much more needs to be said……

HAPPY BIRTHDAY GUAPO!!!!

Oh, one last thing….I was asked to include a Song of  the Day. Here you go Guapo, just for you!! No, not a pony, but better! A unicorn…

I have no idea what the fuck this is. Catchy though…

56 responses

  1. Pingback: On Celebrating Foolishness « A Frank Angle

  2. OMG .. but I’m not sure which has me laughing more, your words or the video! From the videos I’ve seen in his honor today, this fits in! Well done Alex … and Happy Birthday Guapo!

    December 6, 2012 at 7:52 am

    • Le Clown

      Frank,
      Right?
      Le Clown

      December 6, 2012 at 7:57 am

      • Well … Alex does have a way with words, but the videos are cracking me up. Hope you see Boob Scotch!

        December 6, 2012 at 7:59 am

    • Thank you Frank! It was kinda cool to have Guapo in the top 7 things I thought about upon waking this morning…

      1-Coffee
      2-Coffee
      3-Bathroom
      4-Something
      5-Something else
      6-Coffee
      7-It’s Guapo’s Birthday!!!!

      December 6, 2012 at 7:59 am

      • To make the top 7 is quite the feat!

        December 6, 2012 at 8:00 am

        • Indeed, he easily beat out my fourth cup of coffee and my usual morning routine of running 10 miles wrapped in tin foil followed by a nice bowl of Froot Loops….

          December 6, 2012 at 8:06 am

    • Um…I think I’ll take that as a compliment , Frank… ;)

      December 6, 2012 at 8:06 am

      • Oh no … birthday boy has spotted me! … and here in Texas to boot!

        December 6, 2012 at 8:08 am

  3. OH. MY. GOD!!!!
    I’m going to be singing that and dancing like her all day now!

    For your words (and the music), it’s a fantastic birthday present Alex! Thanks so much!!!

    December 6, 2012 at 8:06 am

    • Is it a ‘he’ or ‘she’? I wasn’t sure Guapo, but yeah…I think it’ll be in my head all day. And speaking of ‘Day’….I hope you enjoy yours Guapo!!!!

      HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

      December 6, 2012 at 8:08 am

  4. :) everybody is being foolish today. Now tell me, how the hell do I get that awful tune out of my head?

    December 6, 2012 at 9:01 am

    • You do have something against space unicorns?!

      Btw, I find tequila has remarkable properties for removing unwanted thoughts from one’s head. But be warned, these removed thoughts most likely will be replaced with entirely new unwanted thoughts.. thus requiring another application of tequila… and the whole process repeats over and over again. All and all, not a bad way to spend a weekend…

      December 6, 2012 at 9:23 am

  5. No, nothing against space unicorns, unless they sing like the video. But great advice, thanks. I will start the weekend right now! Cheers!

    December 6, 2012 at 9:33 am

  6. Awesome post! Happy Birthday Guapo :)

    December 6, 2012 at 9:36 am

  7. Pingback: Surfing Foolishness | The M3 Blog

  8. Red

    Fabulous! I love “Marshmallow laser”. That is such a powerful weapon!

    Happy birthday, Guapomallow!

    December 6, 2012 at 10:09 am

    • Guapomallow? LOL!!

      I will SO have to find a way to use that today….I’ll have a side order of the Guapomallow, please. ;)

      December 6, 2012 at 10:25 am

      • Red

        I am always amused by the hundreds of variations on his name.

        December 6, 2012 at 10:27 am

        • …and after today…there will be thousands, and rightfully so!

          December 6, 2012 at 10:29 am

  9. You can call me stupid but I still haven’t understood the point of that email…except that it’s Guapo’s birthday and that the song was indeed catchy and I’m humming it.
    Alexxxx you’ve given me a new ear-worm!

    December 6, 2012 at 11:18 am

    • LOL!!! Sorry about that!

      Actually Talitha….the email, the entire Foolishness Project, and it’s execution was brilliant and thoughtful. I don’t know who conceived of it, though I have some ideas, but very well done on their part! I was flattered, and excited, to be part of it. Just don’t tell anyone I said that, I much rather give the impression that I was terribly put out by the entire matter….
      ;)

      December 6, 2012 at 11:30 am

  10. Very enjoyable tribute to the Foolish One! :D

    December 6, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    • Thank you Linda! And ‘The Foolish One’, I’m going to remember to use that tag, probably tomorrow. :D

      December 6, 2012 at 2:53 pm

  11. Happy birthday to a damned handsome man!

    December 6, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    • That he is Smak, no doubt. And proud of it!

      December 6, 2012 at 3:51 pm

      • Well, he’d better be–he’s kinda advertising it with that name…

        December 6, 2012 at 3:55 pm

        • I gotta admire a confident man! ;)

          December 6, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  12. Thanks for putting out, uh, ummmmm, I mean…Thanks for not being too put out to do this! Yay for Guaerella’s birthday!

    December 6, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    • Thank YOU for the inclusion!

      There seems to be no shortage of putting out for His Guap-holiness, just as it should be!

      December 6, 2012 at 4:48 pm

  13. I will definitely have to check out this man’s blog if he is 7th on your list of things to do once you get up Alex! :)

    December 6, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    • Hey there Colline! And yes, you must!

      …and well that was THIS morning, not every morning….well not most mornings. Some, I can easily say, some mornings….while running wrapped in tin foil, and before the froot loops ;)

      December 6, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      • :D What an image you have placed in my mind Alex :D
        Checked him out and will begin reading him. Looks to be an interesting character :)

        December 6, 2012 at 5:05 pm

        • If you subscribed Colline, be prepared for tomorrow…because it’s Friday…and that means… well, you’ll see! :D

          December 6, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  14. Pingback: Fantastic Foolishness | FiftyFourandAHalf

  15. Pingback: A Plethora of Foolishness: A Guide to El Guapo | YoYo-Dyne Propulsion Labs: Reno Division

  16. STILL laughing my fucking tuchus off at the birthday song. If the Guap doesn’t appreciate this piece of musical genius then he’s, well, on life support. Or in Philadelphia.
    Fun piece and wonderful greetings to EG.
    Happy Birthday El G!

    December 6, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    • Given the choice between the two Rachael, life support sounds the better option.

      Aplausos y el cumpleaños feliz al Señor Guapo!

      December 6, 2012 at 6:39 pm

  17. Pingback: Foolishness, Tardiness, Stubbornness, Oldness | A Clown On Fire

  18. Pingback: Friday Foolishness – Dapper Edition | Guapola

  19. Pingback: Independence Day Foolishness | A Taswegian in Finland

  20. This was GREAT, Alex! I loved it! The video, was of course, perfect for the Guapington (I knew he’d love it and then THERE it was – on his Friday Foolish post today)

    December 7, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    • I’m pretty sure he’s sleeping off his Marshmallow Laser over-load this morning White Lady. Thanks for the compliment, and your poetry was AMAZING!!

      December 8, 2012 at 3:39 am

  21. Loved the Birthday song and am going off to check Guapo’s site soon. :)

    January 8, 2013 at 11:07 am

    • Enter cautiously…and be sure to sanitize your hands completely afterwards. ;)

      January 8, 2013 at 11:17 am

You were saying...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,420 other followers