by Alex Autin

…things I LOVED! Week March 12th through March 18th

Image Credit: NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory

Oh look. The sun has a little happy face.’

These were the words tweeted this week by Jason Major of Lights In The Dark in reference to this image. Quite honestly, I don’t see the little happy face, but I’ve got to admire anyone who does! Jason is also the man who in a post last month titled Sun, Moon and Spots in reference to a video of the Feb 21, 2012 Solar transit by the Moon from the perspective of SDO remarked…’I think the sun looks a little surprised.’ I’m not much into applying human characteristics and expressions to cute little kittens and squirrels, however I have to admit to finding it clever when applied to Astronomical objects. I also have to admit to agreeing with Jason in the case of that particular video….the sun does appear to be ‘surprised’. But don’t take my word for it, go there and check it out for yourself. While there also check out Jason’s March 14th post, Is This Comet SWAN’s Swan Song. Very cool!!

Also in the Cool Science Department this week A Frank Angle got me all weepy-eyed with his post On The Universe featuring videos of Carl Sagan’s Pale Blue Dot in comparison to Neil deGrasse Tyson’s, now quite viral,  The Most Astounding Fact. After reading Frank’s post followed by stepping outside for a look at the Venus and Jupiter conjunction…it was quite an emotional evening for me. Speaking of Neil deGrasse Tyson, who’s Space Chronicles I FINALLY got my hands on…and it’s AWESOME, Kyle Hill at Science-Based Life also compares deGrasse Tyson to Sagan in a March 12th post titled…Neil deGrasse Tyson is the New Carl Sagan and featuring deGrasse Tyson’s Why We Stopped Dreaming video….completely inspiring, and completely important.

AND….before I move on from space, I absolutely HAVE to mention Galicia Futura‘s March 17th post titled Las estrellas vistas desde la Estación Espacial Internacional  featuring  The Stars as Viewed from the International Space Station, edited by Alex Rivest using Adobe Lightroom. A-MA-ZING!!

After a week of much star-gazing it was nice to have St. Patrick’s Day on Saturday as an excuse to lift a glass or two. I was kept fully up to date on the approaching event, as I am with ALL my news, by the informative, straight-talking, and hard hitting tag-team of Smaktakula and Tardsie D. Bagg over at Promethean Times. The guys got us in the spirit early in the week with a March 12th introduction to the Emerald Isle titled Ireland The PT Way!. On March 15th the boys reminded us that March is not only about St Paddy with their timely post titled Bewaring The Ides Of March (Among Other Things). They then finished up on Saturday with an all-out St Patrick’s expose titled St. Paddy’s Day!  These are just small samples of the top-notch journalism to be found at Promethean Times, not just this week, but every week. I’m sure it’s just a matter of time before the folks over at Pulitzer are forced to recognize Smak and Tardsie …even if at gun-point. (Warning: Prolonged exposure to Promethean Times may cause the following side effects including temporary eyelid droop and nausea, gas with oily spotting, loose stools, and more frequent stools that may be hard to control. Babies born to mothers who have read Promethean Times in the latter half of pregnancy have reported complications, including floppiness, stiffness, irritability or constant crying. Even moderate exposure may result in sleepwalking, and eating or driving while not fully awake, with amnesia following the event. Consult your healthcare practitioner before reading Promethean Times. …things I LOVE, Alex Autin is in no way responsible for any ill-effects experienced before, during, or after viewing Promethean Times.)

Another blog I’ve been following closely this past week is artist J.E. Lattimer’s Uncharted Revelations. J.E. demonstrated his extremely interesting and innovative experimental art this week in posts with such compelling titles such as Surveillance and Censorship, Iniquitous Manifestations, and Harmonic Frequencies. Fascinated by his work, knowing I’d want to write about it, and wanting to properly categorize it, I earlier in the week questioned J.E. as to the process involved in the creation of his art….

J.E. – Well, I usually don’t tell anyone how I create my artwork / photographs, but okay, here goes… You know how some people can bend spoons using only their minds? It’s kind of like that: I take a roll of unused / undeveloped film into a completely dark room where I sit cross-legged and meditate with the film held tightly in my hand. While meditating I visualize each image as clearly as possible, then, when I go to develop the roll… Voila! No, that’s mean, only kidding… Seriously though, the truth is that these images are only possible because I’m one of the five people on earth who have been given a prototype of the new quantum computer… Only kidding again… The truth is that I’ve developed most of the techniques for over a decade now and they’re fairly top secret– Only shared with those that I know very well and have known for a long time……

Cleverness combined with brilliance and talent….and highly recommenced.

Rounding out the week with music, Marilia from World Music took me on a week-long tour of Portugal. Starting in Porto with X-Wife and their haunting song Across The Water , then the beautiful music of Os Azeitonas and their song Anda Comigo ver os Aviões. Marilia then invited us to her home region of Alentejo to close out the week with a song from Virgem Suta titled Linhas Cruzadas. Such beautiful music and such a beautiful country! Obrigada Marilia, danke Xandi and everyone at World Music!

Cheers and enjoy your week!

41 responses

  1. Galicia Futura

    Thank you for your mention. Excellent blog!!!

    March 19, 2012 at 6:42 am

    • You’re very welcome. And thank YOU for helping me to learn Spanish by reading your completely interesting blog, and for posting such amazing videos!

      March 19, 2012 at 6:52 am

  2. Wow … quite the honor to be honored here to start the week. Many thanks.

    Speaking of the Ides of March. I can’t believe I forgot this – (thus belatedly) Happy Buzzards Day (which coincides with the Ides of March, but the celebration is on the Sunday following.
    http://www.hinckleytwp.org/content/buzzard-day-history
    http://www.clemetparks.com/events/buzzards_sun.asp

    No smiley face on that sun pic for me, but it remains an awesome site.

    March 19, 2012 at 6:50 am

    • Many thanks to you Frank! And Buzzards Day?!! Ok, I have to check it out…

      I don’t see the smiley face either….but if you check out the link to the video, I think you will see a very ‘surprised’ looking sun!

      March 19, 2012 at 7:03 am

      • Buzzards Day is an Ohio event (Cleveland area) …every year, 2 days before St. Patrick’s Day…. and I have been to Buzzard Roost! … Oh, and two days after … (today!) … the swallows return to Capistrano

        March 19, 2012 at 7:08 am

        • Then it’s a great day in Abruzzo, Italy!

          And damn Frank…at first read I thought you said Buzzard Roast. …..do you have photographic evidence of this roost??

          March 19, 2012 at 7:17 am

        • As a question during the celebration of all things buzzard, are they the ones that throw up as a defense mechanism when scared?

          March 19, 2012 at 7:28 am

          • Sea Cucumbers do.

            March 19, 2012 at 7:29 am

            • Turkey Vultures as well, I think. I read a hilarious account in a great book that had me laughing all day (chuckling thinking about it now).
              The guy was never able to fully clean it off his car.

              March 19, 2012 at 7:31 am

            • As do I….on occasion : )

              March 19, 2012 at 7:32 am

  3. Lots of links I have to check out!

    March 19, 2012 at 7:01 am

    • Franco! Good morning to you in Argentina!

      Definitely check them out : )

      March 19, 2012 at 7:04 am

  4. This is excellent. Thank you dear Alex, Greetings and Love to you from Istanbul, with my love, nia

    March 19, 2012 at 7:10 am

    • Wow…Istanbul!! Greetings to you as well Nia…..maker of the world’s finest squirrel hats and who’s name I see EVERYWHERE! Thank you for the visit and comment, I’m flattered!

      March 19, 2012 at 7:15 am

      • You are so nice dear Alex, this lovely squirrel made me known :) You are welcome and million thanks, have a nice day, with my love, nia

        March 19, 2012 at 7:23 am

  5. As always, a great round up.
    Looking forward to poking through the links, and have a great week Alex!

    March 19, 2012 at 7:29 am

    • Good morning Guapo….take your time! And have a great week yourself, as I’m sure you will!

      March 19, 2012 at 7:33 am

  6. Alex!! :) I’m surprised with this trip by portuguese music in your blog!
    My thanks to you! and to Xandi, of course, for the fantastic work he does with his blog “World Music”

    March 19, 2012 at 8:05 am

    • Boa tarde Marilia! : )

      Thank both you and Xandi for supplying the music which helps keep my sane throughout the week! More Portuguese Music!!!

      March 19, 2012 at 8:15 am

  7. Alex,
    so glad you enjoyed the Portuguese music. Me too, thanks so much! But I’ve to say, sometimes blogging is hard, but I appreciate it for all your nice comments over there!
    Have a nice day,
    Xandi

    March 19, 2012 at 9:05 am

    • I don’t know how you manage to keep up with it Xandi, but I’m GLAD that you do! Your efforts are greatly appreciated. : )

      March 19, 2012 at 9:23 am

  8. Alex, thanks so much for your kind words! I love the description, particularly the hitherto-undocumented “loose stool” effects. We may lift your wonderful description as a disclaimer.

    And as usual, you’ve highlighted some cool stuff. Great music and cool celestial images. As far as decidedly non-celestial images, I was really taken with some of the multifaceted images on UnchartedRevelations.

    Like a caught leprechaun forced to reveal his stash, you can always be counted on to lead the way to some cool stuff.

    March 19, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • I had to clear myself from any liability, I’m sure you understand Smak. ; ) Thank you guys for making me laugh and reminding me to not take any of this too seriously. I’m glad you enjoyed the links….and yeah, J.E.’s work is seriously cool!!

      March 19, 2012 at 10:03 am

  9. that’s now my computer wallpaper.

    March 19, 2012 at 11:23 am

  10. Thanks for the props, Alex, love your blog! Very kind of you to do this– and thanks for all of the great feedback, everyone! Hope you all have a safe and happy week!

    March 19, 2012 at 11:54 am

    • You’re very welcome J.E., and thank you for amazing me. I’m still waiting to read more of your writing, btw!

      March 19, 2012 at 1:23 pm

  11. i have nominated you for “THE VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD” :)
    http://sonocarina.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    March 19, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    • Wow…thank you Carina! I’ll check it out!

      March 19, 2012 at 1:27 pm

  12. Gorgeous. One of my paintings is inspired by pictures of the sun:
    http://kimkiminy.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/faerie-sun.jpg

    March 19, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    • Wow Kim, that is quite good. You should do more!

      March 20, 2012 at 5:52 am

  13. Now that is a very diverse ,entertaining and informative blog
    I like the analogy of bending soons
    Enjoyed my reading
    Ian aka Emu

    March 19, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  14. Lets try that again Alex —-Bending spoons— as I have never heard of anyone who can bend soons
    Ian aka Emu

    March 19, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    • LOL!! I think I would pay good money to see someone bending ‘soons’.

      March 20, 2012 at 5:51 am

  15. Eric Murtaugh

    Good stuff Alex!

    March 20, 2012 at 10:49 am

    • Thank you Eric, hope you find something here you like! :)

      March 20, 2012 at 9:30 pm

  16. Pingback: …things I Loved! Week of Jan 13th – Jan 19th 2013 « …things I LOVE!

You were saying...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,573 other followers